TL;DR
Get everyday helpers delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
A Seniors Guide report puts Texas non-medical home care at a statewide median of $30 an hour and adult day health care at about $90 a day. Costs vary by location, schedule and support needs; the supplied report does not provide statewide averages for every type of senior living.
Seniors Guide has published a breakdown of senior living costs in Texas, reporting a $30 statewide median hourly rate for non-medical in-home care and an average of about $90 a day for adult day health care. The report says prices depend on location, service level and hours of support, while its supplied figures do not establish a statewide average for every housing or care option.
For non-medical home care, aides may help with hygiene, meals, laundry, mobility, transportation and medication reminders. Seniors Guide lists a statewide median of $30 an hour, with a median daily cost of $189, or $5,720 a month. Those daily and monthly figures should be read as the report presents them; the source does not specify the number of hours or days used to calculate each total.
The report illustrates local differences using metropolitan-area figures: $214 a day in Austin and $116 a day in McAllen for these services. It says agency care may cost more than hiring a companion directly, while agencies may provide screening, backup care and liability protection. Visit minimums, service requirements, timing and higher rates on evenings, weekends or holidays can also affect a bill.
Skilled medical services at home are priced differently. Seniors Guide gives a median rate of about $90 an hour for private-duty nursing and a median monthly cost of $390, or $4,680 annually. The report says nurses generally spend shorter periods with patients than non-medical aides, so hourly rates alone do not show total spending. It also lists adult day health care at about $90 per day, or $1,950 per month, compared with a national median of $95 per day, or $2,058 monthly.
How Care Choices Affect Budgets
The figures give families a starting point for comparing services, but they do not represent a single price for “senior living.” Housing, personal assistance and medical care are different expenses, and some people may use more than one at once. A household arranging home aides, for example, may also need periodic nursing or adult day services.
Local prices matter. The Austin and McAllen home-care figures in the report differ substantially, showing why a statewide median may not predict what a family will pay in a specific community. Care schedules also change the total: the number of visits, duration, required minimums and time of day all affect costs. For families planning a move or responding to a change in health, comparing the exact services and terms offered is more useful than comparing hourly prices alone.
The report also says Texas costs are generally below U.S. averages across care levels, particularly for nursing home care. That is a broad comparison in the supplied material; it does not include a complete set of Texas and national figures here. Families should not treat it as a guarantee that a particular facility or service will cost less than a comparable option elsewhere.
Popular right now

De'Longhi 15-Bar Pump Espresso Machine with Milk Frother & Temperature Control

Roborock F25 GT Set Cordless Wet Dry Vacuum Cleaner and Mop with 2 Brushes

Samsung 85-Inch QN70H Neo QLED 4K Smart TV (2026)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Options From Home to Communities
The report covers several arrangements, from aging in place to retirement communities and nursing care. Adult day centers provide daytime supervision and activities, usually on weekdays, and some offer health or therapeutic services. Seniors Guide says programs vary in schedule, location and level of medical oversight. It notes that Medicaid and long-term care insurance may cover some medical care costs, but the source does not specify eligibility rules or the scope of coverage.
Residential options also differ. Active-adult homes can involve rental payments or purchased property, with possible homeowners association, activity or amenity fees. Independent living communities generally serve residents who remain independent and may offer apartments, kitchens and amenities; the report describes them as usually private-pay housing and says there is no single official statewide average. Continuing care retirement or Life Plan communities may charge an entrance fee, according to the report, but fees and contract terms vary.
These distinctions matter because the source material does not provide a complete price list for every category. It discusses assisted living and nursing care as parts of the broader landscape, and says Texas nursing home costs are comparatively lower, but the provided text contains no specific statewide nursing home figure. Any comparison should account for what is included in a quoted rate and whether care needs can change over time.
“The median hourly cost statewide is $30.”
— Seniors Guide
Where the Price Data Has Limits
The supplied report text does not show its publication date, underlying data collection period or detailed methodology. Readers therefore cannot tell from the material provided how current the estimates are or how many providers and locations were included. The figures are estimates and medians, not guaranteed quotes.
Several categories have no statewide average in the supplied text. It gives no specific price for independent living, active-adult housing, assisted living or nursing home care, and does not state whether listed monthly costs include every fee. The report’s statement that Texas is generally less expensive than the national average is not accompanied here by a full set of comparison figures. Actual costs and any public or insurance coverage depend on the service, provider, contract and an individual’s circumstances.
Compare Local Quotes and Coverage
Families can use the report’s figures as a preliminary reference, then request current, itemized quotes from providers in the area they are considering. For home care, useful details include hourly rates, minimum visit lengths, weekend or evening charges, and whether backup care is included. For residential communities, families can ask about entrance payments, recurring fees, included services and how charges change if a resident needs more assistance.
The next step is to check coverage directly with relevant insurers, public programs and providers. Seniors Guide says some medical care costs at adult day centers may be covered by Medicaid or long-term care insurance, but coverage is not automatic based on the report alone. The supplied material does not announce a new policy or forthcoming data release, so no further milestone is specified.
Key Questions
What is the reported median cost of non-medical home care in Texas?
Seniors Guide lists a statewide median of $30 an hour. It also reports a median daily cost of $189 and a monthly figure of $5,720; the supplied text does not explain the hours or days used for those totals.
How much does adult day health care cost?
The report estimates an average of about $90 per day, or $1,950 per month, in Texas. It lists the national median as $95 per day, or $2,058 per month. Local rates and program services vary.
Are home-care costs the same across Texas?
No. The report gives daily figures of $214 in metropolitan Austin and $116 in metropolitan McAllen. Schedule, services, visit minimums and provider arrangements can also affect the price.
Does the report give a statewide price for independent living?
No. Seniors Guide says independent living is usually private-pay housing and that there is no single official statewide average. Costs depend on location, housing and amenities.
Could Medicaid or insurance help pay for adult day services?
Seniors Guide says Medicaid and long-term care insurance may cover some medical care costs at adult day centers. The supplied report does not detail eligibility or benefits, so families need to check coverage with the program or insurer.
Source: seniorsguide.com
